---
title: "Role Group"
description: "A Role Group is a collection of roles that can be assigned collectively. This is useful when multiple roles with a shared purpose or level of access need to be…"
lang: en
languages:
  en: https://docs.vismasoftware.no/admin/main_concepts/role_group/index.md
  no: https://docs.vismasoftware.no/no/admin/main_concepts/role_group/index.md
  sv: https://docs.vismasoftware.no/sv/admin/main_concepts/role_group/index.md
lastmod: 2026-04-06
---

> Documentation index: https://docs.vismasoftware.no/admin/main_concepts/llms.txt


# Role Group

Last modified April 6, 2026

> A Role Group is a collection of roles that can be assigned collectively. This is useful when multiple roles with a shared purpose or level of access need to be…


### Create new role group

1. Click the “New role group” link  
2. Fill in the required details  
3. Click “Save user”

### View role group details

1. In the Role group list, hover over the desired role group and click the Edit icon
2. Check the displayed details  
3. Navigate to other tabs for additional details

### Remove role group

1. In the Role group list, hover over the desired role group and click the Edit icon  
2. Click the “Remove user group” button at the bottom left  
3. Approve as prompted

**Note:** Removing a role group will will impact all users' access inherited through that role group.

### Include role to role group

1. In the Role group list, hover over the desired role group and click the Edit icon  
2. Navigate to the “Roles” tab  
3. Click the “Include role” tab  
4. Click the “Include” to add role to role group  
5. Click the “Save role group” to apply changes

**Note:** When a role is added to the role group, users with role group-based role assignment will inherit new role access.

### Exclude role from role group

1. In the Role group list, hover over the desired role group and click the Edit icon  
2. Navigate to the “Roles” tab  
3. Click the “Exclude” link to remove the role from the role group  
4. Click the “Save role group” to apply changes

**Note:** Removing a role from the role group will revoke that role for all users who received it through the group.

### View change log

1. In the Role group list, hover over the desired role group and click the Edit icon  
2. Navigate to the “Change log” tab  
3. View all changes made to the role

### Check role group membership

1. In the Role group list, hover over the desired role group and click the Edit icon  
2. Click on the Roles tab  
3. Under Included roles, review the list to see which groups the role belongs to  
4. If needed, use the Search field to locate specific group names

### View role group change log

1. In the Role group list, hover over the desired role group and click the Edit icon  
2. Navigate to the “Change log” tab  
3. View all changes made to the role

**Note:** You can filter by one, none or multiple actions: exclude role, grant role group to user, grant role group to user group, include role, new role group, revoke role group from user, revoke role group from user group, update description and update name. If no action is selected, all actions will be displayed by default.

### Export role group change log

1. In the Role group list, hover over the desired role group and click the Edit icon  
2. Click the “Change log” tab  
3. Press the “Export” button


---

[View this page](https://docs.vismasoftware.no/admin/main_concepts/role_group/)
