---
title: "Deactivate an account"
description: "An account that has transactions posted cannot be deleted; if the account is no longer being used, you can instead deactivate it."
lang: en
languages:
  en: https://docs.vismasoftware.no/visma-net-erp/help/general-ledger/manage-chart-of-accounts/deactivate-an-account/index.md
lastmod: 2026-02-23
---

> Documentation index: https://docs.vismasoftware.no/visma-net-erp/help/general-ledger/manage-chart-of-accounts/llms.txt


# Deactivate an account

Last modified February 23, 2026

> An account that has transactions posted cannot be deleted; if the account is no longer being used, you can instead deactivate it.


An account that has transactions posted cannot be deleted; if the account is no longer being
used, you can instead deactivate it.
Once deactivated, the account remains in the
database but does not appear in any selector field among the accounts listed for
selection.

1. Go to the [Chart of accounts (GL202500)](https://docs.vismasoftware.no/visma-net-erp/help/general-ledger/general-ledger-windows/chart-of-accounts-gl202500/index.md) window.
1. To find the account you want to deactivate, type an identifying string in the **Search** field at the bottom left of the window, and review the results.
1. Click anywhere in the row with the account you want to deactivate.
1. Clear the **Active** check box for the account.
1. Click ![icon-save](https://docs.vismasoftware.no/media/visma-net-erp/icon-save.png).


---

[View this page](https://docs.vismasoftware.no/visma-net-erp/help/general-ledger/manage-chart-of-accounts/deactivate-an-account/)
